Heartbreak

A poem I sent in a competition. 

The scent of wet grass in the morning

And the wafting smell of roses

The sound of falling raindrops

And the floating lotuses;

Remind me of you

In my hours of solitude

Causing an unrest in my heart

Making me long for you.

With every  shining sun ray

That touches my delicate skin

I recall the burning heartache

And the mess I have been.

The truth floats before me

Like paper boats in water

You left never to return

Dropping my dreams to shatter.

I complain and cry foul

In the dark lonely room

Waiting with dead emotions

For the day of doom.

For there is no repose

For me in this life

Without you all I can see

Misery, pain and strife.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

