Little Flower and Memories

Wandering through the thick forest

It came upon me suddenly,

The little yellow flower-

Like a forgotten memory

That flash before our eyes

On a lazy summer afternoon

While doing utensils

Or other everyday chores

And remind us of all the colors

That we forget and ignore

In the dense repetitive

Blacks and greys of everyday.

It rested in the comfortable

Arms of a dense green bush

The name of which I know not

But which looked oddly familiar

Like something out of the books

I read as a child.

Peeking at me from it’s secluded place

The flower beckoned me

From my quest to find the city

And sit in the lap of nature

For just a moment

And forget all the concrete

And heated realities of life.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

