My Book BFF’s

Friendship Day is something which was popularized in India by a film but it took no time in making a stronghold. Apart from the commercialization this day also became popular because it honors a relationship which we all hold close to our hearts – relationship with our friends. There won’t be a single person who wouldn’t vouch for a special friend and wouldn’t commit to stand by a friend’s side. Everyone has a friend they hold close to heart, some have more than one friend and some have infinite. We all have friends and we all love them. Friendship Day is celebrated on the first Sunday of August, all the more convenient to spend quality time to spend with friends.

Books are also our friends, greatest friends. Once we are acquainted with them they stay with us all our lives, sometimes in the form of a lesson or a memory or a beloved character. In this post I will discuss some of the characters from my favorite books whom I regard as and would like to have as my Best Friend Forevers.

First in the list in no particular order is Emma, the protagonist of Emma by Jane Austen. I don’t just adore her but love her. She is like the perfect friend to have some tea time gossip and someone to turn to for advice. On the plus side she might just hook me up with a cute guy 😉

Emma_2009_Crop

Next comes Anne from Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery. Anne is someone whom I would keep in my friend from childhood category. She is someone I would like to spend all my lazy afternoons, cooking up stories and loving and hating a particular classmate or acquaintance with passion. Anne is someone who would stand by her friend’s side in any perilous situation. I adore her simplicity and her pure heart and she definitely has a special place in my friend’s list.

Anne-of-Green-Gables-Audio-Book

Maggie Tulliver from George Eliot’s The Mill on The Floss is one friend I need to keep in touch with the wild self in me. MAggie is passionate, considerate and kind. She cares about other’s feelings and she is someone whom I would count upon in my hard times to lend and ear and shoulder to me.

maggie

Hermione Granger, Luna Lovegood and Ginny Weasely from Harry Potter has to be in this list. This girl gang is original and they are super awesome. They are loyal, trustworthy, strong, brave and kind. Hermione might also be perfect study buddy. Luna would be someone to promote originality and Ginny would be the ideal buddy to plan mischief and manage them.

kNmfJpDHudqPSx9u1mirBMzo

My next choice might surprise you but I have a legit explanation. Heathcliff from Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte would be someone who would help me to scare the shit out of any bullies in highschool or in life.

tomheathcliff2009

And I must not forget Dorian Gray from th Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde because well I wouldn’t say no to a handsome guy best friend. Even though Dorian is a little too self obsessed with his looks he is a valuable addition for his knowledge of the world and his classy demeanor to add to the charm of my little group.

Dorian-Gray-dorian-gray-32847611-1181-787

So that’s my group of book BFF”s what’s yours?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

