Another Heartbreak Song

That lump in my throat,

It doesn’t go away.

Although I have become better

In hiding it away.

Tucking it back somewhere

Where it stays most of the days

But sneaks out sometimes

To remind me of yesterdays.

 

Memories are weird.

Weirder than I.

They bring tears,

They make me cry.

We were supposed to walk

Down a flowery road

With sun setting behind our heads

While our hearts glowed.

And here I am now

Trying to put up a brave face

Reminding myself to not look back

Trying not to chase.

That lump in my throat

It doesn’t go away

But I have become better

In pretending I am okay.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

