Survivor’s Tale

19964446942_9af84dd3e5_b
Image Courtesy: flickr.com

 

The point after all is I survived.

I survived every storm

You sent my way.

I won’t say I came out unscathed,

I am now covered in scars

but I breathe now,

and soak in the morning sun

without burning my skin beyond repair.

What you did not understand then,

That a storm may be powerful enough

To uproot oak trees

but it has to pass one day and when it does

There rises a new sapling

where the oak tree used to be.

The point after all is that the storm has passed

And I am finally alive now

breathing above the soil

Soaking in the morning sun

Without burning my skin anymore.

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

