Can I Be More Myself?

romantic_couple_sunset-wallpaper-1366x768

Can I be more myself than I already am?

Can I be more yours than I already am?

People wonder how can someone not be themselves

Ask me and I will point them to you

And then to myself and tell them

Sometimes people become reflections of others

Without intending and sometimes they become foils

Whichever way it works, people don’t remain themselves

And it’s not dishonesty, nor is it an attempt to fool

It’s just a natural phenomenon

Like a caterpillar becomes a butterfly

Or a bud slowly transforms into a flower

That’s how it works.

When something tender like love touches you

Change is inevitable.

Do you not see how the earth changes

After just one kiss from the rain.

The earth remains the earth

And the rain remains the rain

And yet they change in ways

That poets have sung about for centuries.

Which is why I ask constantly

Can I be more myself than I already am?

Can I be more yours than I already am?

 

Leave a Reply

